

TO: MEMBERS OF SAIGA Cc: SAIGA COUNCIL, NOMINATIONS & REMUNERATION COMMITTEE FROM: SECRETARIAT Date: 8 JULY 2024

#### NOMINEES FOR SAIGA COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2024

Dear members of the Institute

The terms of office for the following six members of the Council are due to expire during the AGM in 2024:

- 1. Ms. Vatiswa Matanda
- 2. Ms. Elaine Joseph
- 3. Ms. Kgothatso Maoko
- 4. Mr. Ntona Marota
- 5. Mr. Odwa Duda
- 6. Mr. Lucky Mokoena

#### The process that has unfolded:

The Secretariat has reopened the nominations process between 1-5 July 2024 in accordance with the resolution taken by the members of SAIGA during the AGM held on 28 June 2024.

The existing nominees as per the list of nominees presented during the AGM on 28 June 2024 were requested to re-confirm their acceptance and capacity to serve in the SAIGA Council for the term 2024-2027 by the 5<sup>th</sup> of July 2024.

Whereas the newly nominated people who have been nominated between 1-5 July 2024 were also requested to confirm their acceptance and capacity to serve in the SAIGA Council for the term 2024-2027 by the 5<sup>th</sup> of July 2024. The members who have been nominated on the last day of the nominations week, 5<sup>th</sup> of July 2024, were requested to also confirm their acceptance and capacity to serve in the SAIGA Council on or before 8 July 2024 at 10am.

All the nominees were requested to submit a video motivation on why they should be voted to serve in the SAIGA Council.

It must be noted that it is not the responsibility of the Secretariat that the video motivations are audible and visible. It also not the responsibility of the Secretariat that members do not submit their video motivation, but the responsibility lies with the nominees themselves to inform the SAIGA members on their reasons for not submitting their video motivation.

#### **Physical Address**

Cambridge Office Park, Building 10, Ground Floor, 5 Bauhinia Street, Techno Park Centurion, 0157 Postal Address PO Box 36303, Menlo Park, 0102, South Africa

Member of



www.saiga.co.za

The external auditors will have access to all documentations i.e., SAIGA By-laws, Constitution, communications to and from nominees as well as the voting system to carry out their assignment of verifying the process, the elections results and compilation of their audit report. This role is not a responsibility of the Secretariat. The audit report and results of the elections lies solely with the external auditors.

The NomRemCo, as the committee mandated with the appointment and election of Council members shall ratify the process followed for the re-nominations of the Council elections together with the external auditor's report. The committee shall rely on the external audit report for their ratification process.

### Summary of nominations

Initial nominations process opened from December 2023 till 31 January 2024 had the following stats:

- 11 people were nominated
- 8 people accepted nominations
- 1 person did not meet the criteria as an RGA member
- 2 people did not accept nomination

**Re-confirmations** 

- **5** people have re-confirmed their nominations and are (Montoeli Dlamini, Germinah Hlahla, Matshidiso Wesi, Mojalefa Deane and Ncikazi Mlonyeni).
- Graeme Swartz has declined his re-nomination.
- Mary-Ann Whitford, Didintle Melodi, Noziphiwo Deki and Riaan Frans did not respond to the email.

In the re-nomination process opened between 1-5 July 2024, the new nominees and stats are presented as follows:

- **8** new people were nominated and are (Fandy Mushwana, Stacey-Lee Paulsen, Lucky Mikari, Lerato Madileng, Nonhlanhla Madungandaba, Ramokgophana Mojapelo, Vatiswa Matanda and Teboho Nkhatho.
- **Stacey-Lee Paulsen** has declined the nomination.
- Nonhlanhla Madungandaba accepted the nomination outside the required time. The email was sent at 21H33 on Monday, 8 July 2024.
- Ramokgophana Mojapelo did not respond to the email of nominations.
- The rest of the **5** new people have accepted their nominations on the required time and are (Fandy Mushwana, Lucky Mikari, Lerato Madileng, Vatiswa Matanda and Teboho Nkhatho)

# Therefore, the final List of Nominated people to serve in the Council for the period 2024 to 2027 are:

Members are required to vote for a minimum of one member to a maximum of four members to serve in the SAIGA Council from 2024 to 2027.

#	Name of the	Click for their motivation video
	nominee	
1	Fandy Mushwana	https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GHSF0Q58GGqp_Pwoihj9lxTX8bCTpNmZ/view?usp=drive_link
2	Germinah Hlahla	20240215_215038.mp4
3	Lerato Madileng	Did not submit a video
4	Lucky Mikari	VID_20240708_093900.mp4
5	Matshidiso Wesi	No video link was submitted
6	Mojalefa Deane	Motivation Video
7	Montoeli George Dlamini	SAIGA.MP4.mp4
8	Ncikazi Mlonyeni	Motivation Video.mp4
9	Teboho Nkhatho	https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/dyacze5igqw6pk6080lqw/Video-2024-07-09-09-45- 24.mov?rlkey=m9eg1gzm6mjmyt0846t5ftryl&dl=0
10	Vatiswa Matanda	https://share.icloud.com/photos/0aeTQkmaW66jsyFChopzV1jHQ

## Resolutions to be required during the AGM

- 1. Adoption of the auditors verification report on eligibility and fairness of the nominations process
- 2. The present members at the AGM to decide whether to add members who did not respond to the nominations email in the voter's ballot list
- 3. The present members at the AGM to decide whether to add members who accepted nominations after the required time in the voter's ballot list
- 4. Thereafter, the auditors will share the voting link for members at the AGM to cast their votes

Sincerely